The new Israeli Government has said that it intends to annex large swathes of Palestinian land in the West Bank, starting in July, land which was militarily occupied in 1967. This would be the culmination of years of appropriation of land – through the forced displacement of Palestinians, settlement and the annexation of East Jerusalem. Annexation, illegal under international law, is the forcible and unilateral acquisition of territory over which it has no recognised sovereignty and to make it an integral part of the state – in this case, Israel.

Palestinian civil society has made a global call for ‘effective measures’ to be taken to stop this annexation happening. If the measures are to be effective, this means the UK should now, at the very least, be adhering to an ethical policy on all the UK’s trade with Israel , in particular by applying international law on settlements in the occupied Palestinian territories and stopping any arms trade with Israel that is used in violation of the human rights of Palestinians.

In the midst of the Covid pandemic a number of organisations and individuals are cooperating to try to respond to the call from Palestine by making Annexation a live issue on the current political agenda. Israel’s timetable is to annex land quickly with Trump’s support – this means we cannot wait.

If you agree with this and want to support the Palestinian call for action, please indicate your agreement with the following statement in one or more of the ways listed below:


I am speaking out now in order to stop the threatened annexation of Palestinian land by Israel in July, and I call on the UK Government and all UK political parties to support the call of Palestinian civil society organisations for Effective Measures by all States to Stop Israel’s Illegal Annexation of the Occupied West Bank.

  • Add your name to the statement above by clicking here
  • Share on social media. Click here for a statement graphic or cut & paste the statement above and post on social media.
  • Circulate to people you know who might be supportive, and raise the issue wherever possible in organisations, parties and trade unions of which you are a member
  • Write to your MP using PSC's template letter. Just click here.



    Palestine Solidarity Campaign

    Amos Trust

    Artists for Palestine UK

    British Palestinian Policy Council,

    Jews for Justice for Palestinians

    Labour and Palestine

    Liberal Democrats Friends of Palestine

    Labour Friends of Palestine and Middle East

    SNP Friends of Palestine

    Stop the War Coalition

    Palestinian Return Centre

    War on Want



    Apsana Begum MP

    Baroness Tessa Blackstone

    Baroness Christine Blower

    Alan Brown MP

    Baroness Pauline Bryan

    Richard Burgon MP

    Ian Byrne MP

    Jeremy Corbyn MP

    Bob Doris MSP

    James Dornan MSP

    Lord Hugh Dykes

    John Finnie MSP

    Lord Peter Hain

    Neale Hanvey MP

    Lord John Hendy

    Rachel Hopkins MP

    Stephen Kinnock MP

    Ian Lavery MP

    Caroline Lucas MP

    Kenny MacAskill MP

    John McDonnell MP

    Ivan McKee MSP

    Grahame Morris MP

    Brendan O’Hara MP

    Kate Osborne MP

    Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP

    Tommy Sheppard MP

    Andy Slaughter MP

    Zarah Sultana MP

    Jon Trickett MP

    Claudia Webbe MP

    Sandra White MSP

    Mick Whitley MP

    Leanne Wood MS


    Trade Unions :


    Mary Bousted, Joint General Secretary NEU

    Manuel Cortes, General Secretary TSSA


    Jo Grady, General Secretary UCU

    Len McCluskey, General Secretary Unite the Union

    John Phillips, Acting General Secretary GMB

    Barbara Plant, President GMB


    Mark Serwotka, General Secretary PCS

    Sarah Woolley, General Secretary, BFAWU

    Mick Whelan, General Secretary ASLEF


    Individuals :

    Dr Hafiz Alkarmi  (Chair, Palestinian Forum in Britain)

    Omar Al-Qattan

    Salman Abu Sitta

    John Austin

    Zaher Barawi (Chair, Europal Forum)

    Sarah Beddington

    Tamara Ben Halim

    Geoffrey Bindman

    Victoria Brittain

    Julie Christie

    Chipo Chung

    Caryl Churchill

    Selma Dabbagh

    William Dalrymple

    Izzat Darwazeh

    Brian Eno

    Shepard Fairey

    David Farr

    Lindsey German

    Arthur Goodman

    Professor Kamel  Hawwash (Chair PSC)

    Canon Garth Hewitt

    Nadia Hijab

    Kate Hudson (Gen Secretary CND)

    Betty Hunter

    Ben Jamal (Director PSC)

    Ghada Karmi


    Sara Husseini

    Hugh Lanning

    Mike Leigh

    Ken Loach

    Dr. Dina Matar ( Chair, Centre for Palestine Studies, SOAS)

    Kika Marlham

    Yann Martel

    Jenny Morgan

    Professor Karma Nabulsi

    Chris Nineham

    Maxine Peake

    John Pilger

    Philip Pullman

    Hilary Rose

    Steven Rose

    Atallah Said, OBE (Chair, British Arab Association; Honorary Chair, British Palestinian Policy Council)

    Zac Sammour,

    Aimee Shalan

    Alexei  Sayle

    Clare Short

    David Thompson

    Colm Tóibín

    Harriet Walter

    Irvine Welsh

    Wolf Alice

    Short Link : http://bit.ly/30nrBSG